School of Medicine Leadership

Board of Directors

Sidney C. Smith, Jr., MD, Professor of Medicine and Director of the Center for Cardiovascular Science and Medicine, University of North Carolina School of Medicine


Nancy Howell Agee, President and CEO, Carilion Clinic

Nicholas C. Conte, JD, General Counsel, Carilion Clinic

Warner Dalhouse, Founding Chairman, HomeTown Bank

Ben J. Davenport, Jr., Chairman, Davenport Energy and First Piedmont Corporation

Terry Jamerson, Vice President, Times-World Corporation

Carmen Hooker Odom, Past President, Milbank Memorial Fund

Timothy D. Sands, PhD, President, Virginia Tech

James R. Smith, Founder and CEO, Smith/Packett Med-Com, LLC

Dennis H. Treacy, JD, President, The Smithfield Foundation, and Rector, Virginia Tech Board of Visitors

Ex Officio Members:

Adam Tate, Student Representative to the Board

Karen Eley Sanders, EdD, Chief Diversity Officer

Bertram W. Spetzler, MD, Medical Consultant, Department of Social Security, Faculty Representative to the Board

Cynda Ann Johnson, M.D., M.B.A., President and Founding Dean

Tracey W. Criss, M.D., Associate Dean for Clinical Science Years 3 and 4

Michael J. Friedlander, Ph.D., Senior Dean for Research

Daniel P. Harrington, M.D., Vice Dean

Aubrey L. Knight, M.D., Senior Dean for Student Affairs

Leslie LaConte, Ph.D., Assistant Dean for Research

David Musick, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Michael Nolan, Ph.D., Assistant Dean for Basic Science Education

Melanie Prusakowski, M.D., Assistant Dean for Admissions

Karen Eley Sanders, Ed.D., Chief Diversity Officer

Tarin Schmidt-Dalton, M.D., Associate Dean for Clinical Science Years 1 and 2

David B. Trinkle, M.D., Associate Dean for Community and Culture

Richard C. Vari, Ph.D., Senior Dean for Academic Affairs (not pictured)

The Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine’s 2017 Leadership Organizational Chart details the reporting relationships between the Board of Directors, the School’s administrative leadership, and the department chairs.

A Message from the Dean

Cynda Johnson welcomes you to the VTC School of Medicine and talks about how you start a medical school. Read more


Virginia Tech Carilion Leadership