Learning Environment Advocacy Committee

The Role of the Learning Environment Advocacy Committee

The Learning Environment Advocacy Committee (LEAC) is a committee composed of faculty, staff, students, residents, and Carilion health professionals appointed by the dean. The committee is charged with:

  • promoting a learning environment that best supports student education;

  • raising awareness about what constitutes mistreatment and unprofessional behavior through educational sessions for medical students, residents, and faculty;

  • investigating allegations of mistreatment and unprofessional behavior in the learning environment; and

  • resolving reported incidents through a committee process that determines appropriate disciplinary action to address the unacceptable behavior.


Committee Members

Felicity Adams-Vanke, MD, Committee Chair
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Email: FAAdamsvanke@carilionclinic.org


Karen Sanders, EdD, Faculty Representative
Chief Diversity Officer
Email: KESanders@vt.edu


Robert Moylan, MD, PhD, Faculty Representative
Assistant Professor of Gastroenterology
Email: rdmoylan1@carilionclinic.org


Deborah Kelly, PhD, Faculty Representative
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Science
Email: debkelly@vtc.vt.edu


Bruce Johnson, MD, Faculty Representative
Professor of Internal Medicine
Email: bejohnson@carilionclinic.org


Jordan Taylor, M2 Representative
Class of 2020
Email: jdtaylor@carilionclinic.org


Lena Turkheimer, M2 Representative
Class of 2020
Email: lmturkheimer@carilionclinic.org


Zainab Ibrahim, M3 Representative
Class of 2019
Email: zibrahim@carilionclinic.org


Nathan Ziman, M3 Representative
Class of 2019
Email: nsziman@carilionclinic.org


Juyeon Park, M4 Representative
Class of 2018
Email: jpark2@carilionclinic.org


Julia Ross, M4 Representative
Class of 2018
Email: jmross@carilionclinic.org


Matthew Joy, MD, Carilion Clinic Resident Representative
Plastic Surgery
Email: MTJoy@carilionclinic.org


Ralph McKenzie, DO, Carilion Clinic Resident Representative
Psychiatry
Email: rrmckenzie@carilionclinic.org


Beth Ipock, MAEd, MSW, QMHP, Staff Representative
Director of Clinical Skills Assessment and Evaluation
Email: bhipock@carilionclinic.org


Heather Shepardson, Carilion Clinic Administration Representative
Vice President of Human Resources
Email: hsshepardson@carilionclinic.org


Peter Flynn, RN, MSN, Carilion Clinic Nursing Representative
Unit Director
Email: PWFLYNN@carilionclinic.org


Michael Bentley, PharmD, Carilion Clinic Health Professional Representative
Pharmacy Residency Preceptor
Email: mlbentley@carilionclinic.org


Karen Burns, Administrative Support
Email: klburns1@carilionclinic.org


Committee Advisors

Tracey Criss, MD
Daniel Harrington, MD
Aubrey Knight, MD
David Musick, PhD
Richard Vari, PhD