The Learning Environment Advocacy Committee (LEAC) is a committee composed of faculty, staff, students, residents, and Carilion health professionals appointed by the dean.

The committee is charged with:

  • promoting a learning environment that best supports student education;
  • raising awareness about what constitutes mistreatment and unprofessional behavior through educational sessions for medical students, residents, and faculty;
  • investigating allegations of mistreatment and unprofessional behavior in the learning environment; and
  • resolving reported incidents through a committee process that determines appropriate disciplinary action to address the unacceptable behavior.

Committee Members

Felicity Adams-Vanke, MD, Committee Chair
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Email: fadams@carilionclinic.org

Karen Sanders, EdD, Faculty Representative
Chief Diversity Officer
Email: kasande1@vt.edu

Robert Moylan, MD, PhD, Faculty Representative
Assistant Professor of Gastroenterology
Email: rdmoylan1@carilionclinic.org

Deborah Kelly, PhD, Faculty Representative
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Science
Email: debkelly@vtc.vt.edu

Bruce Johnson, MD, Faculty Representative
Professor of Internal Medicine
Email: bejohnson@carilionclinic.org

Meredith Rahman, M1 Representative
Class of 2021
Email: mzrahman@vt.edu

Jordan Taylor, M2 Representative
Class of 2020
Email: jdtaylor@vt.edu

Lena Turkheimer, M2 Representative
Class of 2020
Email: lenaturk@vt.edu

Zainab Ibrahim, M3 Representative
Class of 2019
Email: zainab92@vt.edu

Nathan Ziman, M3 Representative
Class of 2019
Email: nziman@vt.edu

Matthew Joy, MD, Carilion Clinic Resident Representative
Plastic Surgery
Email: mtjoy@carilionclinic.org

Tricia Lemelle, MD, Carilion Clinic Resident Representative
Psychiatry
Email: tmlemelle@carilionclinic.org

Beth Ipock, MAEd, MSW, QMHP, Staff Representative
Director of Clinical Skills Assessment and Evaluation
Email: bethi@vt.edu

Heather Shepardson, Carilion Clinic Administration Representative
Vice President of Human Resources
Email: hsshepardson@carilionclinic.org

Peter Flynn, RN, MSN, Carilion Clinic Nursing Representative
Unit Director
Email: pwflynn@carilionclinic.org

Michael Bentley, PharmD, Carilion Clinic Health Professional Representative
Pharmacy Residency Preceptor
Email: mlbentley@carilionclinic.org

Karen Burns, Administrative Support
Email: klburns1@vt.edu

Committee Advisors

Tracey Criss, MD
Daniel Harrington, MD
Aubrey Knight, MD
David Musick, PhD
Richard Vari, PhD