Virginia Tech® home

Learning Environment Advocacy Committee

The Learning Environment Advocacy Committee (LEAC) is a committee composed of faculty, staff, students, residents, and Carilion health professionals appointed by the dean.

The committee is charged with:

  • promoting a learning environment that best supports student education;
  • raising awareness about what constitutes mistreatment and unprofessional behavior through educational sessions for medical students, residents, and faculty;
  • investigating allegations of mistreatment and unprofessional behavior in the learning environment; and
  • resolving reported incidents through a committee process that determines appropriate disciplinary action to address the unacceptable behavior.


Felicity Adams-Vanke, MD, Committee Chair
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

VTCSOM Faculty Representatives

  • N.L. Bishop, DMin
    Sr. Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion, and Student Vitality
  • Chad J. DeMott, MD
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Emily Faulks, MD
    Professor of Surgery
  • Robert Moylan, MD, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Gastroenterology
  • Badr Ratnkaran, MBBS
    Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
  • Kris Rau, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Basic Science Education

VTCSOM Student Representatives

  • Matthew Drescher, M1 Representative
    Class of 2027
  • Roger Luong, M2 Representative
    Class of 2026
  • Lilian Brouwer, M2 Representative
    Class of 2026
  • Alana Hall, M3 Representive
    Class of 2025
  • Merly Konathapally, M3 Representative
    Class of 2025
  • Melissa Leaf, M4 Representative
    Class of 2024
  • Doug Murray, M4 Representative
    Class of 2024

VTCSOM/CarilionClinic Resident/Fellow Representatives

  • Rebecca Gates, MD
  • Surgery
  • David O'Neil, MD
  • Pediatrics
  • Chinomso Ogumerem, MBBS
  • Neurology
  • Elise Zhao, MD
  • Internal Medicine

Committee Advisors

  • Jed Gonzalo, MD
    Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education
  • Aubrey Knight, MD
    Senior Dean for Student Affairs
  • David Musick, PhD
    Senior Dean for Faculty Affairs
  • Rebecca Pauly, MD
    Vice Dean

VTCSOM Staff Representative

  • Beth Ipock
    Standardized Patients

CarilionClinic Administration Representative

  • Tara Wiedeman
    Senior Director, Education and Organizational Development

Administrative Support

  • Beth Bond
    Administrative Support

CarilionClinic Nursing Representative

  • Jerrie Patterson, RN
    Unit Director