Virginia Tech® home

Academic Departments

Basic Science Education

Emergency Medicine

Family and Community Medicine

  • Chair: Michael P. Jeremiah, MD
  • Vice Chair, Academic Affairs, Professional Development and Well-Being: Mark H. Greenawald, MD
  • Vice Chair, Research and Population Health: John Epling, MD, Professor
  • Vice Chair, Clinical Affairs:  Chris Mertes, MD
  • Clerkship Director: Alison Thornton, DO
  • Faculty

Health Systems and Implementation Science

Internal Medicine


  • Chair: John A. Jane, MD
  • Vice Chair Research and Education: Mark Witcher, MD, PhD
  • Faculty

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Orthopaedic Surgery


Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine



  • Chair: Michael Nussbaum, MD, FACS
  • Vice Chair, Education:  Charles Paget, MD
  • Vice Chair, Research:  Daniel Rukstalis, MD
  • Vice Chair, Clinical Affairs:  Daniel Tershak, MD
  • Clerkship Director: Farrell Atkins, MD
  • Faculty