Department Chair

Paul R. Skolnik, MD

Vice Chair

Bruce E. Johnson, MD

Phase II: Secondary Application

The decision to send a secondary application invitation to an applicant will reflect the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine’s commitment to attracting a diverse body of learners who will likely achieve academic success in the rigorous academic setting of medical school, while experiencing further growth in other important aspects of professionalism. 

Candidates need

  1. a current MCAT with a combined score of a 503 or above 
  2. a competitive undergraduate GPA 
  3. the ability to meet the VTCSOM Technical Standards for Medical School Admission, Promotion, and Graduation (with or without accommodation)

to be considered for a secondary application invitation.

MCAT tests considered for the 2019-2020 cycle will be those taken between April 1, 2017 - October 1, 2019.

Each application is reviewed before a decision is made on whether to invite a secondary application. Only the most academically qualified applicants who present records indicating that they would benefit most from the innovative medical curriculum at the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine will be invited to complete a secondary application. Applicants are required to submit a $70, non-refundable application fee along with their secondary application.

Students who are invited to submit an online secondary application will be notified by email, and provided a link to access the school’s secondary application.

The school seeks students who are interested in making contributions to greater society through a life-long career of inquiry, including the practice of evidence-based medicine, clinical and basic science research, and scholarship. Applicants who have experience in inquiry, research, scholarship, innovation, and leadership are encouraged to apply.

Name

Contact

Nathalie Abi Hatem, MD

natalie_abihatem@hotmail.com

Bret R. Adams, MD, PhD

540-982-7377
Bret.Adams@usoncology.com

Anil Agarwal, MBBS

anil.agarwal@va.gov

Nancy H. Agee, RN, BSN, MSN

540-981-8844
nhagee@carilionclinic.org

Shahram Ahmadzadeh, MD

sahmadzadeh@pcvmed.com

Chinekwu O. Anyanwu, MBBS

540-759-0844
coanyanwu@carilionclinic.org

Ann E.S. Austin, DO

540-526-1303
asaustin@carilionclinic.org

Joseph L. Austin, MD

jlaustin@carilionclinic.org

Sameh G. Aziz, MD

sgaziz@carilionclinic.org

Anthony W. Baffoe-Bonnie, MBChB

awbaffoebonnie@carilionclinic.org

Fred J. Ballenger, MD

540-344-1400
fjballenger@pcvmed.com

Adegbenga A. Bankole, MBBS

aabankole@carilionclinic.org

Renee A. Beirne, MD

540-224-5170
rabeirne@carilionclinic.org

Michael A. Berry, MD

540-526-1486
maberry@carilionclinic.org

Roshan Bhowansingh, MBBS

540-982-2463, X. 2075
roshan.bhowansingh@va.gov

Frank H. Biscardi, MD

540-853-0327
fhbiscardi@carilionclinic.org

Ralph A. Blackwood Jr., MD

540-224-5170
rablackwood@carilionclinic.org

John C. Boatwright, MD

Boat555@aol.com

David J. Boone, DO

540-982-2463, X. 3333
daveboone2004@yahoo.com

Soheir S. Boshra, MBBCh

540-982-2463
soheir.boshra@gmail.com

Heather D. Brooks, MD, MEd

heather.brooks@usoncology.com

David A. Buck, MD

dabuck@carilionclinic.org

Kristina E. Bulas, MD

540-982-2463, X. 2905
kristina.bulas@va.gov

Ahmet Z. Burakgazi, MD

540-526-1368
azburakgazi@carilionclinic.org

Sean T. Burke, MD

540-526-1368
stburke@carilionclinic.org

John P. Bushkar, MD

jpbushkar@carilionclinic.org

Richard M. Butler, DO

rickbutler@cox.net

James S. Cain, MD

jscain@pcvmed.com

Sumeyye Calp-Inal, M.D., MD

540-982-2463, X. 2445
Sumeyye.Calp-Inal@va.gov

Edgar A. Castillo D'Andreis, MD

540-982-2463, X. 1066
edgarcastillo4@gmail.com

Maithili V. Chitnavis, MD

540-526-1013
mvchitnavis@carilionclinic.org

Vikas N. Chitnavis, MBBS, MRCP

vchitnavis@carilionclinic.org

Mariana Cirino-Marcano, MD

540-985-8505
mcirinomarcano@carilionclinic.org

Moises R. Cossio, DO

540-535-5372
mcossio@valleyhealthlink.com

Jeff S. Croteau, MD

540-224-5170
jscroteau@carilionclinic.org

Clifford P. Culpepper, MD

540-344-1400
cpculpepper@pcvmed.com

Apostolos P. Dallas, MD

540-981-8180
apdallas@carilionclinic.org

Julia M. D'Amora, DO

jmdamora@carilionclinic.org

Brenda M. Davy, PhD, RD

540-231-6784
bdavy@vt.edu

Chad J. DeMott, MD

540-588-8179
cjdemott@carilionclinic.org

Nikolaos Dervisis, DVM, PhD

540-231-4621
dervisis@vt.edu

Devasmita C. Dev, MD

devasmita.dev@va.gov

Neil K. Dorsey, MD

540-981-8342
nkdorsey@carilionclinic.org

Christina L. Dunbar Matos, DO, MPH, MS

540-982-8204
cldunbarmatos@carilionclinic.org

William S. Elias, MD

540-985-8526
wselias@carilionclinic.org

Edgar R. Escasinas, MD

540-344-1400
erescasinas@pcvmed.com

Ryan D. Evans, MD

rdevans@pcvmed.com

Jason R. Faulhaber, MD

540-981-7715
jrfaulhaber@carilionclinic.org

Joseph M. Ferrara Jr., MD

540-632-9360
jmferrara@carilionclinic.org

William A. Fintel, MD

540-774-8660
william.fintel@usoncology.com

Jason R. Foerst, MD

jason.foerst@gmail.com

Mahtab B. Foroozesh, MD

540-853-0186
mbforoozesh@carilionclinic.org

Domingo J. Franco-Palacios, MD

540-682-9219
djfrancopalacio@carilionclinic.org

James B. Franko, MD, MBA

540-981-8534
jbfranko@carilionclinic.org

Shravan K. Gaddam, MBBS

540-981-7653
sgaddam@carilionclinic.org

Dorothy C. Garner, MD

540-981-7715
dcgarner@carilionclinic.org

David M. Gibbons, MD

dmgibbons@carilionclinic.org

Badri Giri, MBBS

540-492-3514
bgiri@carilionclinic.org

Vishal B. Gohil, MBBS

540-382-9405
vbgohil@carilionclinic.org

James J. Gooding, MD

540-982-2463 x1640
jjgooding@cox.net

Harish Grover, MBBS

540-382-9405
hgrover1@gmail.com

Dakshinamurty Gullapalli, MBBS

540-982-2463
Dakshinamurty.Gullapalli@med.va.gov

Ali M. Hama Amin, MBChB, MPH

540-982-8204
ahamaamin@carilionclinic.org

Sameh W. Hanna, MBChB

540-982-2463 x2630
sameh.hanna@va.gov

Robert C. Heath, MD

540-981-7377
robert.heath@usoncology.com

Ido Heletz, MD

iheletz@carilionclinic.org

Carl S. Henderson, DO

chenderson@carilionclinic.org

Laura L. Hungerford, DVM, MPH, PhD

540-231-3532
lhungerf@vt.edu

Bradley L. Icard, DO

540-985-8505
blicard@carilionclinic.org

Susanti R. Ie, MD, MPH

540-853-0186
srie@carilionclinic.org

Cengiz Inal, MD

540-982-2463, X. 1291
cengiz.inal@va.gov

Lowell F. Inhorn, MD

lfinhorn@cox.net

Ali Iranmanesh, MD

540-983-1015
ali.iranmanesh@va.gov

Suzanna C. Jamison, MD

540-224-5170
scjamison@carilionclinic.org

Bruce E. Johnson, MD

540-526-2559
bejohnson@carilionclinic.org

Raina Karanjeet, MBBS, MBA

540-521-4627
rkaranjeet@carilionclinic.org

Ashutosh Kaushal, MBBS

540-526-1304
axkaushal@carilionclinic.org

Mehdi Kazemi, MD

mehdi.kazemi@va.gov

Senaida S. Keating, MD

skeating@carilionclinic.org

Deborah F. Kelly, PhD

540-526-2031
debkelly@vtc.vt.edu

Thomas M. Kerkering, MD

540-981-7760
tmkerkering@carilionclinic.org

Natalie K. Klawonn, MD

nkklawonn@carilionclinic.org

Aubrey L. Knight, MD

540-526-2514
alknight@carilionclinic.org

Mark D. Kochenderfer, MD

540-982-0237
mark.kochenderfer@usoncology.com

Jeri L. Lantz, MD

540-224-5170
jllantz@carilionclinic.org

Susan C. Lee, DO, MBA

540-981-9528
sclee@carilionclinic.org

Liwu Li, PhD

lwli@vt.edu

Anthony L. Loschner, MD

540-520-8036
aloschner@carilionclinic.org

John C. Lystash, MD

jclystash@carilionclinic.org

Mazen I. Madhoun, MD

mxmadhoun@carilionclinic.org

Sidney Mallenbaum, MD

540-526-1368
sxmallenbaum@carilionclinic.org

Padmaja V. Mallidi, MBBS

540-982-0237
padmaja.mallidi@usoncology.com

Thomas J. Martin, MD

540-983-1001
Thomas.Martin4@va.gov

Jacob M. Mathew, MD

jacob.mathew@va.gov

Matt Mathew, MBBS

540-344-1400
mmathew@pcvmed.com

Kimberly A. Matthews, DO

540-526-1486
kamatthews@carilionclinic.org

Terrence P. May, MD

540-982-8204
tpmay@carilionclinic.org

Lydia L. McNeary-Keyes, MD

llmcnearykeyes@carilionclinic.org

Xiang-Jin Meng, MD, PhD

540-231-6912
xjmeng@vt.edu

Kevin B. Mercure, MD

kmercure@carilionclinic.org

Suzan R. Merten, MD

suzan.merten@usoncology.com

Mohd A. Mirza, MBBS

540-982-8204
mamirza@carilionclinic.org

Joshua A. Morales, MD

540-982-0237
Joshua.Morales@USOncology.com

Thomas D. Morel, MD

tdmorel@carilionclinic.org

Robert D. Moylan, MD, PhD

rdmoylan1@carilionclinic.org

Biswarup Mukhopadhyay, PhD

biswarup@vt.edu

Ross W. Murchison, MD

540-224-5170
rwmurchison@carilionclinic.org

David W. Musick, PhD

dwmusick@vt.edu

Carl W. Musser, MD

540-982-8204
cwmusser@carilionclinic.org

Stephanie E. Nagy-Agren, MD

540-982-2463
stephanie.nagy-agren@va.gov

Vu Q. Nguyen, MD, MS

540-526-1076
vqnguyen@carilionclinic.org

Jerome T. Nichols, MD

540-725-1226
jtnichols@carilionclinic.org

Donald B. Nolan, MD

540-343-4522
kippen3@gmail.com

Jane N. Nwaonu, MBBS

540-224-5170
jnwaonu@carilionclinic.org

Kenneth J. Oestreich, PhD

oestrk@vtc.vt.edu

Ijeoma N. Okogbue, MD

540-982-8204
iokogbue@carilionclinic.org

Kris Ann K. Oursler, MD, ScM

540-982-2463
Krisann.Oursler@va.gov

Elvis R. Pagan, MD

540-224-5170
erpagan@carilionclinic.org

Amitabh Parashar, MBBS

540-982-2463
amitabh.parashar@va.gov

Bharat G. Patel, MBBS

Bharat.Patel2@va.gov

Vishal D. Patel, MBBS

540-224-5170
vdpatel@carilionclinic.org

John W. Pendleton, MD

jpend1946@yahoo.com

Mariana A. Phillips, MD

540-581-0170
maphillips@carilionclinic.org

Stephen G. Phillips, MD

540-982-8204
sgphillips@carilionclinic.org

Steven Poelzing, PhD

poelzing@vtc.vt.edu

Kyle A. Prickett, MD

540-581-0170
kaprickett@carilionclinic.org

Krishnaswamy Ramachandran, MBBS

540-982-8204
kramachandran@carilionclinic.org

Jayasimha Rao, PhD

jxrao@carilionclinic.org

Sandeep Ravi, MBBS

540-731-7616
sravi@carilionclinic.org

Karen A. Roberto, PhD

540-231-7657
kroberto@vt.edu

Matthew D. Roby, DO

540-224-1705
mdroby@carilionclinic.org

Edmundo R. Rubio, MD

540-853-0177
errubio@carilionclinic.org

Marrieth G. Rubio, MD

540-526-1622
mgrubio@carilionclinic.org

Mohamed Sageer, MD

540-982-2463
mohamed.sageer@va.gov

Aneysa C. Sane, MD

acsane@carilionclinic.org

David C. Sane, MD

540-982-8204
dcsane@carilionclinic.org

Robert F. Saul, MD

Robert.Saul2@va.gov

Rodney W. Savage, MD

rwsavagemd@gmail.com

Amar K. Sawh, MBBS

540-982-2463, X. 2208
amar.sawh@va.gov

Charles J. Schleupner, MSc, MD

540-982-2463, X. 4692
cjschleupner@carilionclinic.org

Mark A. Schleupner, MD

540-224-5170
maschleupner@carilionclinic.org

James W. Schmidley, MD

jwschmidley@carilionclinic.org

Matthew M. Schumaecker, MD

540-982-8204
mmschumaecker@carilionclinic.org

Lauren S. Self, DO

540-397-2483
lsself@carilionclinic.org

Aashit K. Shah, MBBS

540-526-1337
akshah@carilionclinic.org

Mohammad H. Shakhatreh, MBBS, MPH

540-224-5170
mhshakhatreh@carilionclinic.org

Rahul Sharma, MD

540-982-8204
rsharma1@carilionclinic.org

Zhi Sheng, PhD

540-526-2042
zhisheng@vtc.vt.edu

Matthew R. Skelton, MD

540-982-0237
matthew.skelton@usoncology.com

Allan H. Sklar, MD

540-381-3750
apsklar@cox.net

Paul R. Skolnik, MD

540-853-0154
prskolnik@carilionclinic.org

Jacek S. Slowikowski, MD

jsslowikowski@carilionclinic.org

Jean A. Smith, MD

540-981-7715
jasmith@carilionclinic.org

Umar F. Sofi, MBBS

ufsofi@carilionclinic.org

Ann B. Sollinger, PhD

absollinger@carilionclinic.org

Dario R. Sorrentino, MD

drsorrentino@carilionclinic.org

Donald L. Steinweg, MD

dlsteinweg@gmail.com

Christi A. Stewart, MD

540-981-7653
castewart1@carilionclinic.org

Gary P. Swank, MD

540-265-6505
gpswank@carilionclinic.org

Jon M. Sweet, MD

540-981-7000
jmsweet@carilionclinic.org

William L. Tingler, MD

William.Tingler@va.gov

Jeffrey S. Todd, MD

540-982-8204
jstodd@carilionclinic.org

Brian K. Unwin, MD

540-981-7653
bkunwin@carilionclinic.org

Gregorio Valdez, PhD

540-526-2076
gvaldez1@vtc.vt.edu

Shikha S. Vasudeva, MBBS

540-982-2463
sharmavasudeva@yahoo.com

Jennifer E. Vaughn, MD, MSPH

540-982-0237
jennifer.vaughn@usoncology.com

Angela D. Venuto-Ashton, MD

540-981-9521
advenutoashton@carilionclinic.org

Alexander G. Vigh, DO

540-982-8204
agvigh@carilionclinic.org

Philip E. Wakefield, MD

540-328-1108
pewakefield@carilionclinic.org

Yunan D. Wang, MD

ywang@carilionclinic.org

Brad A. Weaver, MD

540-632-9672
bweaver@carilionclinic.org

Richard Weiss, MD, MBA

rweiss@carilionclinic.org

William R. Wellborn III, PhD

540-798-9205
wrwellborn@carilionclinic.org

Ralph E. Whatley, MD

540-853-0154
rewhatley@carilionclinic.org

Phyllis B. Whitehead, PhD

540-981-8126
pbwhitehead@carilionclinic.org

Michael Wiid, MBChB

540-981-7490
mxwiid@carilionclinic.org

Della C. Williams, MD

540-526-1368
dcwilliams2@carilionclinic.org

Eric Williams, MD

exwilliams@carilionclinic.org

Erik D. Womeldorf, MD

540-526-2511
edwomeldorf@carilionclinic.org

Jim Wong, MD

jwong@carilionclinic.org

Christopher D. Wood, DO

540-981-7653
cdwood@carilionclinic.org

Hima B. Yalamanchili, MBBS

himabindu.yalamanchili@va.gov

Paul Yeaton, MD

540-526-1013
pyeaton@carilionclinic.org

Co-Appointments

Robert G. Gourdie, BSc, MSc, PhD

540-526-2095
gourdier@vtc.vt.edu

Asma S. Habib, MD

540-224-4545
ashabib@carilionclinic.org

John C. Perkins Jr., MD

jcperkins@carilionclinic.org

Mark R. Witcher, MD, PhD

540-759-6919
mrwitcher@carilionclinic.org