Although official induction ceremonies were cancelled, the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine’s chapters of Alpha Omega Alpha and the Gold Humanism Honor Society have welcomed their newest members.

Seven students, two residents, and two faculty members have been inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha, a prestigious organization that recognizes excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals and professionalism in the medical profession. 

Junior members who have been inducted are Parker Hambright and Varun Kavuru, both members of the Class of 2021. Senior inductees are Jean Sabile, Justine McGiboney, Jordan Taylor, Mustafa Rasheed, and Brian Saway, each of whom will graduate in May. They join last year’s junior inductees Malek Bouzaher, Harsh Patolia, and Melika Zarei in this distinguished group.

Resident physicians who have been inducted are Lindsey Bierle and Hoa Nguyen (VTCSOM Class of 2017).

Faculty inductees for 2020 are Lee Learman and Robert Trestman.

In addition, six members of the Class of 2021 have been inducted into the Gold Humanism Honor Society. Part of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the group recognizes those who display a dedication to health-focused advocacy, a recognition of the power of community service, a commitment to personal excellence, and an empathic heart.

The six students are Dakota Buhrman, Miranda Gerrard, Meeta Prakash, Meredith Rahman, Vaishnavi Sridhar, and Kian Tehranchi

Read more about national honor societies at the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine.