The Office of Academic Affairs is responsible for undergraduate medical education and the important programs that support medical students’ educational activities. Our innovative Patient Center Curriculum is integrated across all four years of medical school and provides students with foundational basic science knowledge, clinical skills and experience, an immersion experience in research and interprofessional health care education and practice. The curriculum is continuously evolving to assure the highest quality of learning with support provided by the Standardized Patient Program and the Simulation Center. The Office of Academic Affairs provides expertise in assessment, faculty and curriculum development, educational research, program evaluation, educational information technology and accreditation.

The faculty and staff support is vital to help the students navigate through this unique program, and support is provided in many ways – academically, professionally, and personally.

Our goal is to provide an exceptional medical school setting in which every student can receive a remarkable education and succeed in their career as a physician, thought leader who will serve patients using expert clinical skills, research, teamwork and humanism.

If we may assist you in any way, please don’t hesitate to contact any of us.

Richard C. Vari, PhD

Senior Dean for Academic Affairs

540-526-2517
rvari@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M122

Jessica Bradshaw

Medical Education Coordinator - Assessment and Evaluation

540-526-2574
jbrad@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M136

Pamela Carpenter

Medical Education Manager - Clinical Science

540-526-2602
pcarpenter@vt.edu
Riverside 1 Suite 107

Andre Dean

Media Specialist

540-526-2567
aadean@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M209

Kerin Flattery

Patient Centered Learning Case Coordinator

kerinflattery@cox.net

Joanne Greenawald, MD

Director of Problem-Based Learning

540-526-2525
jhgreenawald@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M323A

Heidi Lane

Senior Director of the Office of Clinical Skills Assessment & Education
Title IX Coordinator

540-526-2505
halane@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M323

Rita McCandless, MLS

Head Librarian

540-526-2570
rmccandl@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M110C

Brock Mutcheson, MEd, PhD

Director of Assessment and Program Evaluation

540-526-2500
rbmutch@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M133

Rebecca Price

Library Specialist I

540-526-2502
rlprice1@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M110B

Adelaida Stambol

Academic Affairs Manager

540-526-2513
astambol@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M127

Dustin Womack

Director of Educational Technology

540-526-2569
dwomack@vt.edu
Riverside 2 M209