Six members of the class of 2024, along with four faculty members, and six Carilion Clinic residents were inducted into the prestigious Gold Humanism Honor Society today. Part of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, the group recognizes those who display a dedication to health-focused advocacy, a recognition of the power of community service, a commitment to personal excellence, and an empathetic heart. 


  • Devra Asah 
  • Martin Barylak 
  • LB Canary
  • Patrick D’Onofrio
  • Kelly Ingram
  • Miles Thomas
Student inductees, described below
From left: Martin Barylak, LB Canary, Devra Asah, Kelly Ingram, Dean Lee Learman, Miles Thomas, Patrick D'Onofrio


(recipients of the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards)

  • Meghan Hagedorn
  • Jeffrey Lawrence
  • Rachel Martin
  • David O’Neil
  • Michelle Orlowski
  • Davis Sugar
Resident inductees, described below
From left: David O'Neill, Jeffrey Lawrence, Michelle Orlowski, Davis Sugar


  • Jennifer Cleveland
  • Kye Kim
  • Jeri Lantz
  • Kimberly Simcox
Faculty inductees, described below
From left: Jeri Lantz, Kimberly Simcox, Jennifer Cleveland, Kye Kim
closeup of pin
David O'Neill receiving his pin
Patrick D'Onofrio receiving pin from LB Canary
Devra Asah receiving her pin