Virginia Tech® home

Faculty

Department Chair

Michael Nussbaum, MD, FACS
Professor

Vice Chair

Vice Chair, Education:  Charles Paget, MD

Vice Chair, Research:  Daniel Rukstalis, MD

Vice Chair, Clinical Affairs:  Daniel Tershak, MD

Clerkship Director: Farrell Atkins, MD

 

Name

Contact

Priya A. Acharya, DMD
Assistant Professor

pacharya@carilionclinic.org

Joshua D. Adams, MD
Associate Professor

540-853-0100
jdadams1@carilionclinic.org

Farrell C. Adkins, MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
fcadkins@carilionclinic.org

Lisa S. Apfel, MD
Assistant Professor

540-512-1429
lsapfel@carilionclinic.org

William S. Arnold, MD
Assistant Professor

540-853-0100
wsarnold@carilionclinic.org

Joseph W. Baker, MD
Assistant Professor

540-853-0100
jwbaker@carilionclinic.org

George P. Baron, MD
Assistant Professor

gpbaronmd@gmail.com

Kathryn D. Bass, MD, MBA, FACS
Professor

540-769-0976
kdbass@carilionclinic.org

Christopher E. Bayne, MD
Assistant Professor

540-759-0407
cebayne@carilionclinic.org

Charles D. Bissell, MD
Assistant Professor

cdbissell1@gmail.com

Curtis E. Bower, MD
Associate Professor
Experts @ VT profile

540-526-1251
cbower@carilionclinic.org

Katie L. Bower, MD, MSc, FACS
Associate Professor
Experts @ VT profile

klbower1@carilionclinic.org

Colin T. Brandt, MD
Assistant Professor

540-283-6000
brandtcolin@gmail.com

John F. Camp, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
jscamp@carilionclinic.org

Anthony E. Capito, MD
Associate Professor

aecapito@carilionclinic.org

Alexander F. Cardenas, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
afcardenas@carilionclinic.org

Patrick S. Carpenter, MD, MA
Assistant Professor

540-769-0700
pscarpenter@carilionclinic.org

Cynthia W. Choate, MD
Assistant Professor

540-853-0100
cwchoate@carilionclinic.org

Nicholas S. Clark, MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
nsclark@carilionclinic.org

Bryan R. Collier, DO
Professor

540-981-7434
brcollier@carilionclinic.org

Michael J. Collins, MD
Assistant Professor

540-240-3683
mjcollins@carilionclinic.org

Charles E. Conklin Jr., DDS
Associate Professor

540-981-7128
ceconklin@carilionclinic.org

Thomas D. Conlee, MD
Assistant Professor

540-283-6055
tconlee@jeffersonsurgical.com

John C. Conrad, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
jcconrad@carilionclinic.org

George S. Coury, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
gscoury@carilionclinic.org

Benjamin N. Cragun, MD
Assistant Professor

540-240-3585
bncragun@carilionclinic.org

Matthew Cross, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
mwc6zp@virginia.edu

Caleb L. Cutherell, MD
Assistant Professor

540-731-7600
clcutherell@carilionclinic.org

Esmaeel Dadashzadeh, MD, MS
Assistant Professor

erdadashzadeh@carilionclinic.org

Jordan A. Darden, PhD
Assistant Professor

540-529-7792
jadarden@carilionclinic.org

Roxanne R. Davenport, MD
Assistant Professor

540-526-1160
rrdavenport@carilionclinic.org

Jesse T. Davidson III, MD
Senior Instructor

bing7marley3@aol.com

Daniel D. DeMeyts, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
DDDemeyts@carilionclinic.org

James G. Drougas, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-1561
jdrougas@jeffersonsurgical.com

Osa Emohare, MBBS, PhD
Assistant Professor

oemohare@carilionclinic.org

John J. Entwistle, DO
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
jjentwistle1@carilionclinic.org

John M. Facciani, MD
Assistant Professor

540-344-4000
jfacciani@vistareye.com

Joshua D. Farrar, MD
Assistant Professor

540-981-7000
jdfarrar@carilionclinic.org

Emily R. Faulks, MD
Associate Professor

540-981-7434
erfaulks@carilionclinic.org

Mark E. Feldmann Jr., MD
Associate Professor

540-224-5170
mefeldmann@carilionclinic.org

Carla V. Finkielstein, PhD
Associate Professor

540-231-1159
finkielc@vt.edu

Sandy L. Fogel, MD
Professor


slfogelmd@gmail.com

John C. Fraser, MD
Assistant Professor

jcfraser@carilionclinic.org

Shannon Fulp, MD
Assistant Professor

sefulp@carilionclinic.org

Samuel H. Gay, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
shgay@carilionclinic.org

Ashley W. Gerrish, MD
Assistant Professor

atwohler@carilionclinic.org

Carol M. Gilbert, MD
Associate Professor

carolg51@vt.edu

Jacob R. Gillen, MD
Assistant Professor

540-981-7941
jrgillen@carilionclinic.org

Elaina B. Graham, DO
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
ebgraham@carilionclinic.org

John A. Hagy Jr., MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
jahagy@carilionclinic.org

Justin L. Hickman, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
justin.hickman@mail.sit.edu

Ernest J. Hoefner, DO
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
ejhoefner@carilionclinic.org

Steven J. Holley, DO
Assistant Professor

540-731-7660
sjholley@carilionclinic.org

Gregory A. Howes, DO
Assistant Professor

540-512-1421
gahowes@carilionclinic.org

Michelle C. Humble, DDS
Assistant Professor

540-981-7128
mchumble@carilionclinic.org

John A. Jane, Jr., MD
Professor

540-512-1011
jajane@carilionclinic.org

Vishak J. John, MD
Assistant Professor

vishakjohn@vistareye.com

Scott R. Johnstone, PhD
Assistant Professor

540-526-2296
scottrj@vt.edu

Lee R. Jones, DMD
Assistant Professor

540-981-8162
lrjones@carilionclinic.org

Julie A. Joseph, MD
Assistant Professor

jjoseph@carilionclinic.org

Mark Joseph, MD
Associate Professor

540-853-0110
mjoseph@carilionclinic.org

Matthew T. Joy, MD
Assistant Professor
Experts @ VT profile

540-224-5170
mtjoy@carilionclinic.org

David A. Kagey, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-343-8066
dkagey5@aol.com

Ali Kazemi, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
akazemi@carilionclinic.org

Ayesha J. Kelly, MD
Assistant Professor

540-463-7108
ajkelly@carilionclinic.org

Amin Z. Khosrowpour, DO
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
azkhosrowpour@carilionclinic.org

Robert C. Y. Knowles, MD, FACS, CWSP
Assistant Professor

540-224-4325
rknowles@carilionclinic.org

Terry Langfitt Jr., MD, DABA
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
tlangfitt@carilionclinic.org

Todd D. Lasher, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
tdlasher@carilionclinic.org

Maria I. Lazar, PhD
Associate Professor

540-231-5077
lazar@vt.edu

Maxine M. Lee, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
mmlee@carilionclinic.org

Joseph D. Leech, DO
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
jleech@vcom.vt.edu

Sander W. Leivy, MD
Assistant Professor

540-342-4737
sleivy@cox.net

Andrew S. Lex, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
aslex@carilionclinic.org

Daniel I. Lollar, MD
Associate Professor

540-981-7434
dilollar@carilionclinic.org

Yaohua Lu, MD
Assistant Professor

540-512-1410
ylu@carilionclinic.org

Tananchai A. Lucktong, MD
Professor

talucktong@carilionclinic.org

Damien M. Luviano, MD
Assistant Professor
Experts @ VT profile

540-982-2463 x1457

David T. Luyimbazi, MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
dtluyimbazi@carilionclinic.org

Neil A. Macdonald, MD
Assistant Professor
Experts @ VT profile

540-853-0310
namacdonald@carilionclinic.org

Adam H. Maerz, MBBS
Assistant Professor

adammaerz@gmail.com

William P. Magdycz, MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
wpmagdycz@carilionclinic.org

Vivian H. Mao, MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
vhmao@carilionclinic.org

Eric A. Marvin, DO
Associate Professor

540-224-5170
eamarvin@carilionclinic.org

Kristin L. McCoy, MD
Assistant Professor

540-339-2485
kmccoy@carilionclinic.org

Robert M. McLennan, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-588-4068
rmmclennan@carilionclinic.org

Karina A. Miller, DDS
Assistant Professor

540-224-4380
kamiller1@carilionclinic.org

Ernest E. Moore, D.D.S.
Assistant Professor

540-981-7128
emoore@carilionclinic.org

Kurtis E. Moyer, MD
Professor

kemoyer@carilionclinic.org

Terry P. Nickerson, MD
Assistant Professor

540-988-2816
tpnickerson@carilionclinic.org

Sarah H. Nie, MD
Assistant Professor

shnie@carilionclinic.org

Michael S. Nussbaum, MD
Professor
Experts @ VT profile

540-853-0413
msnussbaum@carilionclinic.org

Adeolu L. Olasunkanmi, MD, MS
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
aolasunkanmi@carilionclinic.org

Eric R. Oliver, MD
Assistant Professor

eroliver@carilionclinic.org

Andrea J.M. Olson, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
aolson@carilionclinic.org

Charles J. Paget III, MD, FACS
Associate Professor

540-266-6226
cjpaget@carilionclinic.org

Vaibhav M. Patel, MD
Assistant Professor

vpatel2@carilionclinic.org

Theodore J. Pearson III, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
TJPearson@carilionclinic.org

Antonio M. Perez III, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
axperez@carilionclinic.org

Natalie K. Powell, DMD, MS
Clinical Preceptor

npowell1@carilionclinic.org

Ashish Raju, MD
Assistant Professor

540-731-7600
araju@carilionclinic.org

Nicholas A. Ramey, MSE, MD
Assistant Professor

540-344-4000
nramey@vistareye.com

Ryan R. Reopelle, DDS
Assistant Professor

ryanreopelle@gmail.com

Christopher C. Rigsby, DO
Assistant Professor

ccrigsby@carilionclinic.org

Patrick B. Robertson, DO
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
probertson1@carilionclinic.org

Cara M. Rogers, DO
Assistant Professor

540-224-1351
cmrogers@carilionclinic.org

Joseph F. Rowe, III, MD
Assistant Professor

540-853-0100
JFRowe@carilionclinic.org

John S. Rudderow, DO
Assistant Professor

540-981-7000
jsrudderow@carilionclinic.org

Daniel Rukstalis, MD
Professor

dbrukstalis@carilionclinic.org

Elizabeth A. Russo-Stringer, MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
erstringer@carilionclinic.org

Michael A. Saccocci, DO, MPH
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
masaccocci@carilionclinic.org

Arnold D. Salzberg, MD
Associate Professor

540-526-1251
adsalzberg@carilionclinic.org

Zackary Schwamb, DO
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
zkschwamb@carilionclinic.org

Robert P. Shafer, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
rpshafer@carilionclinic.org

Ankit Shah, MD
Assistant Professor

352-265-2020
ankit.shah.eyemd@gmail.com

Christine G. Sherman, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
cgsherman@carilionclinic.org

Gary R. Simonds, MD, MHCDS
Professor

grsimonds@carilionclinic.org

Michael T. Skinner, DO
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
skinner.tyler@gmail.com

Andrew A. Slemp Jr., MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-4325
aaslemp@carilionclinic.org

George L. Smith, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
glsmith1@carilionclinic.org

Elizabeth C. Stapleton, DDS
Assistant Professor

540-597-5297
ecstapleton@carilionclinic.org

Keith R. Stephenson, MD
Associate Professor

540-731-7600
krstephenson@carilionclinic.org

Joshua D. Stodghill, DO
Assistant Professor

jdstodghill@carilionclinic.org

Michael A. Sullivan, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
masullivan@carilionclinic.org

Zachary T. Swanner, DMD
Assistant Professor

540-981-9582
ztswanner@carilionclinic.org

Cathy Jo W. Swanson, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
cjswanson@carilionclinic.org

Robert B. Swanson, MD, Facs
Assistant Professor

540-759-0407
rbswanson@carilionclinic.org

Daniel R. Tershak, MD
Associate Professor
Experts @ VT profile

540-529-9852
drtershak@carilionclinic.org

James T. Thompson II, MD
Professor

540-345-0289
jtthompson@carilionclinic.org

Michael S. Thompson, MS, DO
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
msthompson@carilionclinic.org

Glenn M. Torre, MD, DDS
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
gmtorre@carilionclinic.org

Joanne L. Tuohy, DVM, PhD
Adjunct Assistant Professor

540-526-2328
jltuohy@vt.edu

Chheany W.C. Ung, MD
Assistant Professor

540-777-0090
cung@vapainsc.com

Terri-ann Wattsman, MD
Associate Professor

540-985-9812
tawattsman@carilionclinic.org

Greta-Anne M. Whiteside, DMD
Assistant Professor

gmcastonguay@carilionclinic.org

Kristopher B. Williams, MD, FACS
Assistant Professor

540-731-7600
kbwilliams3@carilionclinic.org

Sharon L. Williams, MD
Assistant Professor

540-224-5170
slwilliams3@carilionclinic.org

Mark R. Witcher, MD, PhD
Associate Professor

540-759-6919
mrwitcher@carilionclinic.org

Nicholas Wright, MD
Assistant Professor

wrightn9@gmail.com

David A. Wyatt, MD, MSc
Associate Professor

540-853-0100
dawyatt@carilionclinic.org

Zara Zahid, DDS
Assistant Professor

703-587-7799
zzahid@carilionclinic.org

Ian Zheng, MD
Assistant Professor

540-345-0289
ianzheng128@gmail.com

Pamela L. Zollinger, MD
Clinical Preceptor

540-345-0289
pzollinger@carilionclinic.org

Co-Appointments

Chinekwu O. Anyanwu, MBBS
Assistant Professor

540-526-1158
coanyanwu@carilionclinic.org

Sarah E. Parker, PhD
Assistant Professor

540-526-2240
separker@vtc.vt.edu

Biraj M. Patel, MD
Assistant Professor

bmpatel@carilionclinic.org